When Virat Kohli Got Arjuna Award? Did MS. Dhoni Also Got An Arjuna Award?

The Arjuna Award is India’s second-highest sports honor. It is given to athletes who have performed well over the past four years and have shown qualities like leadership, sportsmanship, and discipline.

Virat Kohli, a top Indian cricketer, praised his teammate Mohammed Shami for getting the special Award. Shami received the award from President Draupadi Murmu on January 9 at Rashtrapati Bhawan in Delhi. He got the award for doing really well in the ODI World Cup 2023. Shami expressed his gratitude on Instagram, thanking everyone who supported him and recognized his effort.

Mohammed Shami became the 58th Indian cricketer to receive the Award, joining the likes of Virat Kohli, Kapil Dev, Rohit Sharma, and other renowned players. It’s a special honor for his excellent performance

When Virat Kohli Got Arjuna Award?

Virat Kohli, the star Batter of Indian cricket, got the Arjuna Award in 2013 by the President of India, Pranab Mukherjee. Virat Kohli, the Indian cricketer, had an amazing year of 2013 on the field.

Source: google

He played 34 One Day Internationals (ODIs) and scored a fantastic total of 1,554 runs with an impressive average of 51.80. Kohli hit three centuries and eight half-centuries during the year, showing his exceptional skills and consistency in batting.

Did MS Dhoni also got an Arjuna Award?

MS Dhoni has not received the Arjuna Award, even though he won the World Cup with India twice and a Champions Trophy, making him the most successful captain in Indian cricket history. 

Source: google

MS Dhoni never received the Arjuna Award as he had already been honored with the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna in 2007, the highest sporting honour in India. Despite his significant achievements, the Arjuna Award was not conferred upon him.

Why And On Which Basis Arjuna Award is Given?

The Arjuna Award is a special honor given to athletes in India for their exceptional achievements in sports over four years. It considers factors like consistent performance, leadership, sportsmanship, and character both on and off the field.

The athletes must have won awards, set records, or showcased outstanding performances at the international level during this period. The award aims to recognize not only sporting excellence but also the positive impact athletes have on the sporting community.


Leave a comment

WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now
Instagram Group Join Now