ICC Tournament That India Lost After 2013 Explained

In 2013, India won an ICC cricket championship led by MS Dhoni. After that, the team had faced disappointment in nine consecutive championships.

However, in the ICC World Cup 2023, which India hosted, things didn’t go well. They lost in the final against Australia, breaking the hopes of a home victory. The defeat was a missed chance to grab another championship. It showed how challenging it is for the team to keep winning on the world stage

Why is everything going wrong? It’s not about lacking good players, facilities, or support for young talents. Is it bad luck? Maybe a bit, but that’s not the whole story. This article will talk about all ICC tournament since 2013 and explore why India hasn’t won any of them.

All ICC Tournaments India Played After 2013

The recent disappointment for Team India came in the 2023 World Cup against Australia, adding to their ongoing series of heartbreaks in ICC knockout matches. The last time India tasted success in an ICC tournament was in 2013 when they won the Champions Trophy under MS Dhoni.

However, since then, India has played 9 knockout matches (semifinals and finals) in ICC events and lost all 9. This pattern shows that although India performs well to reach crucial stages, they struggle to clinch victory in semifinals or finals, failing to close the deal.

1. T20 World Cup of 2014: Sri Lanka Defeated India

The match took place on a slow pitch in Dhaka. Virat Kohli played exceptionally well, scoring 77 runs off 58 balls. However, Yuvraj Singh’s slow innings of 11 runs from 21 balls hurt the team’s chances of winning.

In India’s 20-over innings, Rohit Sharma scored 29 before being dismissed by Herath, Rahane contributed 3 runs, and Kohli’s impressive 77 included five fours and four sixes. Yuvraj Singh added 11 runs. India Scored a total of 130 runs.

Sri Lanka successfully chased the target of 131 runs in 17.5 overs. Kusal Perera scored 5, Dilshan made 18, and Jayawardene contributed 24. Kumar Sangakkara’s unbeaten 52, along with Thisara Perera’s quick 23, led Sri Lanka to victory.

2. World Cup of 2015: India lose to Australia

Source: google

In a cricket match, India tried to chase a challenging score of 329 but fell short, getting all out at 233 in 46.5 overs. The team’s captain, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, performed the best, scoring 65 runs in 65 balls.

Other contributions came from Shikhar Dhawan (45 off 58) and Ajinkya Rahane (44 off 58). No other player managed to score more than 35. Australia had set the target earlier, scoring 328 runs for 7 wickets in 50 overs, with standout performances from Steven Smith (105) and Aaron Finch (81). The match took place on Thursday.

India had a good start with a 76-run partnership between Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma. However, after Dhawan and Kohli got out in quick succession, things went downhill. India was bowled out for the first time in the competition, and Australia won by 95 runs, with India managing a total of 233.

3. T20 World Cup of 2016: India lose to West Indies 

In the T20 World Cup semi-final between India and West Indies in 2016, they played at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on March 31. India batted first, making 192/2 with Virat Kohli scoring 89 not out off 47 balls.

West Indies chased the target, winning by seven wickets with one ball to spare. Lendl Simmons was the hero for West Indies, scoring 82 not out off 51 balls. West Indies later won the ICC T20 World Cup 2016 by beating England in the final at Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

4. Champions Trophy of 2017: India lose to Pakistan

Source: google

In the ICC Champions Trophy final in 2017, India played against Pakistan on June 18 at The Oval in London. Pakistan batted first and scored a strong 338/4 in 50 overs, with Fakhar Zaman making 114 runs.

India faced difficulties in their chase, losing wickets regularly. Despite a good effort by Hardik Pandya, who scored 76 runs off 43 balls, India couldn’t reach the target. Pakistan bowled out India for 158 runs in 30.3 overs, winning the match by a big margin of 180 runs. Fakhar Zaman was awarded the Player of the Match for his crucial century.

5. World Cup of 2019: India lose to New Zealand

Source: google

In the 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup, India played against New Zealand in the semi-final on July 9th at Old Trafford in Manchester. New Zealand batted first and scored 239/8 in 50 overs. Due to rain, India had to chase a revised target of 240 runs in 50 overs using the DLS method.

Despite a strong effort by Ravindra Jadeja, who scored 77 runs, India couldn’t reach the target. The match ended with India scoring 221/10 in 49.3 overs, and New Zealand won the semi-final by 18 runs, securing a spot in the final.

6. World Test Championship Final of 2021: India lose to New Zealand

Source: google

The first-ever ICC World Test Championship Final took place from June 18 to 23, 2021, at the Rose Bowl in Southampton, England. It was supposed to last for five days, but rain interruptions led to the use of a reserve day. In the end, New Zealand won the match against India by eight wickets, making them the champions of the inaugural ICC World Test Championship.

In the ICC World Test Championship Final between India and New Zealand, India batted first and scored 217 runs. Ajinkya Rahane top-scored with 49 runs, but Kyle Jamieson took 5 wickets for 31 runs for New Zealand.

In response, New Zealand made 249 runs, with Devon Conway scoring 54 runs, and Mohammed Shami took 4 wickets for India. In India’s second innings, they scored 170 runs, with Rishabh Pant making 41 runs. Tim Southee took 4 wickets for New Zealand. Chasing 140, New Zealand reached the target with Kane Williamson scoring an unbeaten 52 runs.

7. T20 World Cup of 2022: India lose to England

Source: google

In a big T20 cricket match on November 10, 2022, England beat India by 10 wickets in the semi-final of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup held in Adelaide. India batted first and made 168 runs for the loss of 6 wickets in their 20 overs.

However, England easily reached the target of 169, scoring 170 runs without losing any wickets in just 16 overs, with 24 balls to spare. Alex Hales played exceptionally well for England, scoring an unbeaten 86 runs off 47 balls and was named the Player of the Match for his outstanding performance.

8. World Test Championship final of 2023: India lose to Australia

Source: google

In the final game of the ICC World Test Championship at The Oval from June 7 to 11, 2023, Australia beat India by a big margin of 209 runs. Australia batted first and scored a strong total of 469 runs in their first round of batting.

In their second round, they declared at 270/8. India, in response, scored 296 and 234 in their two innings. The star player for Australia was Travis Head, who played a key role in their success. Head’s impressive score of 163 runs earned him the Player of the Match award.

9. World Cup 0f 2023: India lose to Australia

Source: google

In the final game of the ICC Cricket World Cup in Ahmedabad on November 19, 2023, Australia won against India by 6 wickets. India scored 240 runs, setting a target for Australia.

However, Australia successfully chased it down, reaching 241/4 in 43 overs. They won by 6 wickets with 42 balls to spare. Man of the Match was Travis Head. He played a crucial inning by scoring an impressive 137 runs off 120 balls. In the same year India lose another ICC tournament against Australia.


India has been finding it tough in ICC Tournament since 2013, and the trend continued in the 2023 Cricket World Cup final, where they lost to Australia by 6 wickets.

Despite having good players, India has been consistently disappointed, losing nine important matches in a row. The struggle to win crucial games is a big challenge for them and is holding them back from winning international cricket championships.



Leave a comment

WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now
Instagram Group Join Now