Cricketing Clash: India vs Sri Lanka Final Showdown

The Asian Cup is unique as the only global competition based entirely on countries from one continent. India has proven itself as the leader of this competition by winning seven Asia Cups.

Sri Lanka followed closely behind India by winning six cups themselves, while Pakistan made its mark twice more. Initially, three countries competed but eventually expanded into six teams, including India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Hong Kong, and Afghanistan as participants.

About Asia Cup till now

At present, Asia Cup cricket champions include India (seven wins), Sri Lanka (six), and Pakistan (two). Sri Lanka has reached 12 Asia Cup finals while India (10). Bangladesh never won one but made three final appearances before bowing out altogether – unlike in history when both Pakistan and India never faced off against one another.

Most Asia Cup Winners

Team India has won the Asia Cup the most often (seven out of 15 editions), followed by Sri Lanka with six and Pakistan with two victories each. Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and Nepal still need to decide whether they’ll join this esteemed list as Asia Cup winners.

Asia Cup 2022 Winner

On September 11, 2022, Sri Lanka and Pakistan faced off in a final matchup, and Sri Lanka ultimately outwitted Pakistan by 23 runs to claim the Asia Cup title for 2022.

Final Match Date and Location for Asia Cup 2023

The Asia Cup final 2023 will be hosted by Colombo’s R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium and will begin at 3 PM IST. India won Group A to qualify for the final, while Sri Lanka defeated Pakistan during the Super 4 stage and advanced into the final.

Asia Cup 2023 Final Match Team

Sri Lanka defeated Pakistan to advance to the Asia Cup Final Match Team. India secured Group A status, qualifying them both for the final. On September 17, 2023, at R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium in Colombo, this match is anticipated to be close and intense. India may seek revenge after losing to Sri Lanka in the 2022 final while Sri Lanka looks to defend their crown.

Head-to-Head stats for IND vs SL Asia Cup

India’s Asia Cup Remarks India has struggled against Sri Lankan cricket during Asia Cup history. Both teams have met 21 times Sri Lanka holds the edge in ODI matches while their T20I series are tied 1-1.

Since its origins, the India-Sri Lanka rivalry has been captivating to watch. Four Asia Cups were played between 1988 and 1997, with the same final. All four featured India facing Sri Lanka, with India emerging victorious three times from 2004-2010, India once more faced Sri Lanka but lost both finals before finally retiring from competition in 2010. Both teams have yet to compete since 2010.

INd vs Sri Asia Cup Stats – ODIs

Since 1984, India and Sri Lanka have regularly competed against one another at the Asia Cup tournament, entertaining fans worldwide with thrilling ODI encounters. In this format, Sri Lanka currently leads India 10-9 regarding wins within 19 matches between them and the audience love to watch india vs sri lanka match.

Sachin Tendulkar, popularly dubbed ‘the God of Cricket,’ scored the most runs by an Indian in an ODI Asia Cup against Sri Lanka. Sanath Jayasuriya still leads this score, though his 562 runs against India stand out above Tendulkar’s.

Irrfan Patan and Chaminda Vas hold records for most dismissals; they sent 12 and eleven batters back to pavilions, respectively, during Indian-Vs-SL Asia Cup games.

IND vs SL Asia Cup Stats – T20Is

India and Sri Lanka competed twice in T20Is for supremacy at the Asia Cup tournament. India quickly emerged victorious on both occasions.

India and Sri Lanka have both won the Asia Cup T20 so far. There have been only two head-to-heads between Ind and SL at the T20 Asia Cup Rohit Sharma scored the most runs during both matches, while Yuzvendra chahal and Dilshan Madushanka shared the most wickets taken at these matches.


Leave a comment

WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now
Instagram Group Join Now