Australia vs Netherlands: Maxwell Historic 40-Ball Century

Brad Hodge, Brad Hogg, and other standout performers from the 2007 World Cup match between Australia vs Netherlands dominated that match. The Dutch have a chance to change the history of the game.

The Arun Jaitley Stadium brings an additional layer of unpredictability to the match. The pitch, once a haven for spinners, has changed. The addition of black-soil pitch has tipped the scales in favor of batters. The results of the games played at this venue have been overwhelmingly one-sided.

Australia vs Netherlands: Both Side Teams

Netherlands (Playing XI): Vikramjit Singh, Max ODowd, Colin Ackermann, Bas de Leede, Teja Nidamanuru, Scott Edwards(w/c), Sybrand Engelbrecht, Logan van Beek, Roelof van der Merwe, Aryan Dutt, Paul van Meekeren

Australia (Playing XI): David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Inglis(w), Glenn Maxwell, Cameron Green, Pat Cummins(c), Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Adam Zampa

Australia vs Netherlands: Toss

Australia has won the toss and will bat.

Arun Jaitley Cricket Stadium has some interesting statistics. In the 29 ODIs played at this stadium, 14 matches were won by teams batting first and the same number by the chasing group, with only one game being inconclusive. Both teams will have to carefully calculate their strategies, taking into consideration the pitch conditions, with such an evenly balanced set of stats.

Australia Has a Big Chance to Keep Their Rhythm Going

Australia, the five-time World Cup champions, have found their rhythm after a disappointing start to the World Cup. The Australians have won both matches with a resounding victory and hope to continue the momentum in the game Australia vs Netherlands.

Australia Full Inning Highlight

David Warner, who has been in excellent form for Australia in recent years, scored two consecutive tons in Wednesday’s World Cup match against the Netherlands at New Delhi. Warner was dismissed after 104 (93), as the Netherlands put up a late fight. Glenn Maxwell, however, has maintained the momentum for Australia by destroying sixes and fours with ease.

Australia lost Mitchell Marsh very early in the World Cup encounter in 2023 in New Delhi. David Warner and Steve Smith held the fort, helping Australia reach 66/1 by the end of their first powerplay. Warner and Smith both reached their respective half-centuries, and they added 132 runs to the second wicket. Aryan Dutt broke the partnership when Roelof Vander Merwe made a spectacular low catch as Smith fell at 71(68).

The Netherlands did an excellent job of regaining the momentum in the middle, with three wickets in just 19 balls. But Glenn Maxwell arrived, saw, and conquered. Australia was 268/5 when Green was run out.

Maxwell was the only one who could hit hard at the crease. This total could have easily reached 330, but Maxwell threw in his reverse sweeps just for fun to destroy the Netherlands bowlers.

Maxwell was able to pounce on every ball. They were bowling slot/short, looking for yorkers. The fastest World Cup century ever was achieved with 50 runs in 26 balls and 100 runs in 40 balls. The 48th and 49th innings yielded 21 and 28 runs, respectively.

Australia has finally set a massive target of 400 runs for the Netherlands in 50 overs.

Australia vs Netherlands: Maxwell Makes History at World Cup 2023

Source: Google

Glenn Maxwell, who played against Netherlands at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi, scored the fastest 100 in ODI World Cup History on Wednesday.

Maxwell’s 40-ball century is the fourth fastest ODI century ever.

Australia vs Netherlands: Maxwell’s Comments After Reaching This Milestone

Feels good. All day, I was pretty cooked. I think it was to clear my head so that I could play. When Davey and Greeny left, I needed to dig a bit deeper. Patty did well, too. I can still go after the ball even if it is smashed into the wicket. When they bowl quickly, I have to move my hands faster. Try to keep the ball on the infield.

Lets explore the fastest century (100) of the ICC Cricket World Cup History (1975-2023)

RankPlayerTotal RunsOppositionBalls to Reach 100Date
1Glenn Maxwell (AUS)106Netherland4025 October 2023
1Aiden Markram (SA)106Sri Lanka497 October 2023
2Kevin O’Brien (Ire)113England5002 Mar 2011
3Glenn Maxwell (Aus)102Sri Lanka5108 Mar 2015
4AB de Villiers (SA)162*West Indies5227 Feb 2015
5Eoin Morgan (Eng)101Afghanistan5718 Jun 2019
6Rohit Sharma131Afghanistan6311 Oct 2023

The fastest century in ODI cricket history

AB de Villiers (South Africa) – 31 balls

Australia vs Netherlands
Source: google

On January 18, 2015, in a jaw-dropping spectacle against West Indies in Johannesburg, AB de Villiers etched his name in cricketing history. In just 31 balls, he achieved the fastest century in cricket history.

Corey Anderson (New Zealand) – 36 balls

Source: Google

Two Kiwi batsmen scored two of the fastest One-day International centuries ever recorded. This was on January 1, 2014. Jesse Ryder scored one and Corey Anderson the other, both of whom have etched their names in cricketing’s history. He broke Shahid Afridi’s 15-year-old record by scoring an incredible century in only 36 balls, igniting the cricketing world.

Shahid Afridi (Pakistan) – 37 balls

Source: Google

Shahid Afridi and Sri Lanka faced off in Nairobi on October 4, 1996. It was a historic match. Afridi’s remarkable 100-run performance in 37 balls left the cricketing community in awe. Afridi’s final score of just 102 was an impressive display, with 11 sixes as well as six fours.

Glenn Maxwell (Australia) – 40 Balls

Source: Google

Glenn Maxwell, who played against Netherlands at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi, scored the fastest 100 in ODI World Cup History on Wednesday. Whereas 4th Fastest hundred in ODI History.

Asif Khan (UAE – 41 Balls)

Source: Google

Asif Khan, from the United Arab Emirates, wrote a masterpiece of cricket in an exciting match played in Kirtipur on March 16, 2023. In just 41 balls, he scored a stunning century, which left the spectators speechless.


Leave a comment

WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now
Instagram Group Join Now